Day Six: What Now?

by lphawaii

We went back to the convention hall today, a little confused as to why exactly we were there in the first place.  It seemed like we were walking through a cemetery.  The party was dead.  The process was dead.  The presidential race was dead.  And we were the lone survivors, who still held the embers of truth and liberty in the palm of our hands.

“So what are you going to do now?” is the question we got, over and over, from the media.

“We don’t know,” was our answer, over and over.  Some of us might vote for Gary Johnson.  Some of us might abstain.  Some of us might write in a vote for Ron Paul.  Up until today, we had focused on giving our vote to one candidate, and now we were all undecided.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do, personally.

On the floor of the convention center, all the energy from yesterday seemed lost.  There was no more cheering.  Just polite golf claps.  It seemed like every Ron Paul supporter I ran in to came up with a different plan to get the attention of the media.

“We’re all going to stage a walk-out!”

“Let’s stage a walk-in!”

“Let’s walk out, then walk in!”

“Let’s all put on our Ron Paul t-shirts at once!”

It all just seemed so scattered.  First we’re walking out, then we’re walking in, then we’re wearing shirts, then we’re not.  It’s like – hey everyone, we’re all sneezing together!  I mean, the media gets it.  It was an unfair fight, and the process is a total sham.

Just then, I heard a Ron Paul video playing.  It was Ron Paul, again!  Except, he was on the big quadro-tron jumbo screen above the stage.  They were playing a tribute to Ron Paul video, cutting to clips of him talking about the federal reserve, and the economy!  I was shaken.  I ran to the front of the convention hall, and hugged the first Ron Paul supporter I could.  We stayed like that and watched the video, which was over before we knew it.  The video seemed to last about 90 seconds – about as long as they allowed him to speak at one of the debates.

It was nice to see him on the video – but it was like the video you play after someone dies.  He’s not dead yet folks!

After that, Rand Paul talked, and I ran to the front again, trying to get excited about what he said.  This was supposed to be the speech that fired up all the Ron Paul fans to vote for Mitt Romney.  We all listened.  Some photographers were trying to take a picture of me.  “Could you smile please?” the photographer said.  I mustered out a smile, but it wasn’t genuine.

“We DID build that!” Rand Paul echoed.  The same old line from last night’s convention.  Again and again, with the ‘build that’ line.  All they are doing is taking lines from Obama’s campaign, and flipping it around.

So where Obama says, “You didn’t build that!”

The Republicans say, “We did build that!”

Obama says, “Yes we can!”

The Republicans say, “Yes we can do better!”

The whole tactic seems so lame and uninspired, and just proves my point that the entire Republican party is totally obsessed with Obama.  It’s like watching little children fight, “No you can’t!  Yes I can!  No you didn’t!  Yes I did!”  It’s so annoying.  And as soon as I heard Rand Paul say, “We DID build that!” I walked out of the convention hall.

We went back to the Oasis club – that creepy place.  Free drinks, free food, free massages, free everything.  We were interviewed by a bunch of people, but we didn’t have much to say, except reflect on the unfairness.  But even that was already starting to get old to the media news cycle, always hungry for something different to say.

I was quoted by the Maui News as saying that I was thinking of running for office.  It made it sound as if I was beginning my campaign or something!  But not today.  Not this year.  Probably not in many years.  But some day, I probably will.  I’ll probably lose too, but I will at least have a playbook to run on.  It should be pretty easy, with all the tricks I learned from this trip.

First of all, I learned that you can be a good speaker, and still be soft spoken.  Ron Paul is soft spoken.  He’s nice.  And I think I’m just as nice and soft spoken as he is, so it really isn’t that unfeasible for me to give speeches.

Secondly, I have my principles down pat.  I’ve read my economics.  I’ve read my war and peace books.  I’ve interviewed the politicians, and researched all the issues out there.  If anyone ever asks me a question, I can easy turn to the liberty playbook, and come up with a home run answer.

Third, I learned that I have balls of steel.  Jumping on stage after Gary Johnson, and speaking to a crowd of thousands.  Putting a lei on Ron Paul when he entered the convention hall.  Going into the lion’s den of Neo-cons, and lobbying them sweetly to vote against the last minute rules change.  It takes guts to be in politics, and I definitely have more than I thought I did.

But lastly, I will have the experience of being a delegate for Ron Paul to draw upon.  That is important to a lot of people.  He’s seen as the most honest candidate who ever existed – the Thomas Jefferson of our time – and everybody seems to like him.  Connecting myself to Ron Paul as my first step into the political process is about as good an entrance as can be.  And I have a whole new liberty network of friends, from Hawaii, to Iowa, to Texas, to Maine.  Everyone is thinking about what we can do to help.  Whether we run, or we write, or we fight the good fight, it’s up to the rest of us to pick up where Ron Paul left off, and carry the torch of liberty.

