Day Four: The Hurricane

by lphawaii

I woke up to a rainy drizzle outside my window at the Sheraton.  The Convention was cancelled today, so we could do whatever we wanted.  I talked for a while in the lobby with some Romney supporters about Ron Paul.  They asked me, “So, Ron said that we could’ve prevented 9/11.  What does he mean by that?”

“Well,” I said, “Ron Paul predicted 9/11.  He warned about it many times, but nobody listened to him.  They laughed at him.  A month later, the terrorists flew into the towers.  But Ron also said that if we had just let the pilots have a gun, there wouldn’t have been a 9/11.”

The Romney supporter had never heard that before, and she thought it was pretty compelling.  Afterwards someone else told me they were impressed about how I handled myself.  She said, “The way you talk to people who disagree with you is so non-threatening.  That’s a real gift.”  It felt good to that my niceness could actually be useful.

Someone in the lobby said, “We’re giving free massages for the delegates.  You want one?”

I said sure!  Blase, Elaine, and I went uptown to this fancy place called the “Oasis”, which was a massage tranquility haven.  The floor was made out of this soft, pillow-y material, and it had new age orange and green lighting.  Everyone looked extremely fit and attractive, wearing tight white shirts.  It was created specifically for the convention by the Huffington Post.  We walked in, and showed our delegate passes.  “Come in!  Welcome!  Would you like a free tour?”

They showed us around.  Free food, free drinks, free massages, free facials, free books, free chocolate.  It was amazing!  We stayed there and got massages and ice cream for hours.  A lady sitting on the couch saw our Ron Paul shirts and shook our hands.  “I love Ron Paul too,” she said.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but it was Arianna Huffington, of the Huffington post.  She’s some sort of big name in the media today – one of the top 100 most influential people in the world.  I’d never heard of her.

After that, we went back to the hotel, and got ready for tomorrow.  We had lots of strategies to work on, and we needed to be well rested and clear headed for the convention.  We were probably going to be on national TV.  Voting on amendments.  Maybe giving speeches on the floor.  Trying everything we could to stand up for our man, Ron Paul.  We were going to need all our energy.  Luckily, we got a chance to relax in the eye of the hurricane today.

