Day Two: Paul Fest

by lphawaii

My confidence in the liberty movement was fully restored when I arrived at Paul Fest on day two.  Thousands of people this time!  Parking lot full!  The CSPAN Bus!  It wasn’t the pin the tail on the donkey party we had yesterday.

It’s so funny to see a heavy metal / rap band play, and everyone head banging, and then the next act is an old economist on stage.  Lew Rockwell, the most understated man in the world.  It’s like watching Ben Stein talk.  Just this quiet, monotone drone.  But when he started to talk, that’s when the crowds really started pouring in.  Then Thomas Woods took the stage, another economist.  Even more people came.  And finally, probably the most low-key of all, Walter Block.

It’s just so odd to me that these three nerdy economists can pack the house way better than any rock band that played on the stage.  By the time the libertarian presidential candidate Gary Johnson took the stage, the place was packed with thousands of people.

But I didn’t care much about Gary Johnson.  I cared about Ron Paul.  Yesterday’s news about Maine’s delegates being unseated just didn’t sit right with me.  We had to do something about it.  I heard some people talking about a strategy that we could bring to the convention.  Maybe we could just make an amendment to reverse that decision, and re-instate Maine’s delegates?  Why not?  It was worth a shot.

Gary Johnson was almost done speaking, and I just felt like the crowds of people needed to hear this plan.  But who was going to tell them?

“And we need to End the Fed . . .” Gary Johnson said, to a deafening crowd cheer.  His speech was almost over.  I had to take the mic, and tell everyone the plan, otherwise it wouldn’t work.  Gary wrapped up his speech and said goodbye to everyone.  He started walking off the stage.  I had to do something quick!

I jumped on the stage and took the mic.  “Hi everyone!  Raise your hand if you’re a delegate.  Let’s give those delegates a round of applause.”

The audience responded.  They were listening to me!  “I want to tell you a secret plan we have to help get Ron Paul in, but I don’t have much time to talk, so listen carefully . . .”  I told them my plan.  We needed to go to our local delegations and talk to the Romney people.  The Santorum people.  The Gingrich people.  And ask everyone to overturn this rule.  Explain that this has nothing to do with Ron Paul.  It’s not about Ron Paul.  It’s about truth, and honesty in our voting.  You can’t just have a state elect its delegates, and then change the rules because the Republican National Party didn’t like the outcome.  That’s not democracy!

Explain to your local party members that we want to be proud of our Republican Party, and that we need everything to be fair and square!  It looks bad on us to kick Maine out.  It looks terrible, and it denies their state’s rights.

After that, I said thank you and returned the mic.  The audience gave me a big cheer, and all the delegates started talking.  They started asking each other about this strategy.  How could we get together on this?  We need to organize!  At once, a delegate strategy meeting was held in the parking lot.  We all stood around and talk about this idea, and how we could best implement it.  Talks went on for hours about the idea – to get an amendment to the floor and convince everyone to vote for it.  It would be a hail-mary pass, but we still needed to do it so we could stand up for truth and honesty.

After I got off-stage, I felt really good about what I did to help.  Then I thought about it some more – I just took the mic after presidential candidate Gary Johnson, and spoke to thousands of people about a strategy to get Ron Paul on the ballot.  My stomach really started to hurt.  I felt nauseas.  Standing up for what you believe in is exhausting.

Tomorrow: I finally meet Ron Paul

