Happiness

by lphawaii

They say that when someone wins the lottery, they are only happy for the first two months.  Then their happiness level goes back to whatever level it was at before.  If they were a generally sad person, then they’ll go back to being sad, and so on.  The same goes for moving, buying things, marriage — after a while, people just go back to how they were before.  Happy people are just happy, and the depressed are just depressed.

 

But it’s been about a month since I purchased my car, and I’m still happy!

 

Granted, I still have a month to go before the scientific effect of the car wears off, but I have a feeling that I’m going to remain happy for a long time.  Every time I climb in that wonderful machine, I just can’t believe it.  It’s a technological wonder!  It’s actually transporting me where I need to go, and all I have to do is sit down and push the pedal.  It’s a miracle!

 

I just get this giddy feeling every time I’m in my automobile.  A smile just sneaks over my face, and I almost laugh at how hard I had to work.  Every single day, riding my bike up and down the shoulder of the road.  It was exhausting.  And every day I would get home and think, “One day, I will have a car, and I will break down and cry.”

 

Now I’m not a crying man.  Years go by between tears.  But when I first drove my car, I pulled up to the McDonalds drive through, ordered a number one, parked in a lot far away and I could barely even finish my burger between the sobs.  I sat there and cried for a long time.  It was the happiest I’ve ever cried.

 

They say if rich people get richer, it doesn’t make them much happier.  But climbing out of poverty really does make people happy.  If you don’t have the basic necessities of life — if you don’t have enough food to eat, or clothes to wear.  If you’re so poor that it endangers your health, than a little bit of money can buy happiness.  Buying that car was worth years of therapy.  I feel so much healthier and wealthier.  I still work out when I get home.  I lift weights, and run.  And I sleep better than ever, and I eat right.  But there is still one thing I wish I had – one thing I left behind that I could never take with me.  I definitely miss my old friends.

